Hope in His Promise

 

DSC03845

 

“Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!” (Luke 1:45, NIV)

This past weekend, we celebrated our firstborn’s fourth birthday.  And, yes, this mama was quite emotional.

You see, our son is no ordinary child.  I’m sure most parents feel this way about their children, and rightfully so.

In our case, Nicholas is a promised fulfilled.  He is a special reminder to me and my husband that God certainly does keep his promises.

If you’re new to the blog, my husband and I experienced a miscarriage when we first tried to have a child.  The months that followed brought us face to face with different stages of grief and I, personally, dealt with crippling anxiety like never before.

But, there was one day when God spoke a promise.

I will never forget that day.  After months of anxiety and panic attacks, and not thinking clearly, I felt a tug on my heart and knew it was God’s presence.

My husband and I were driving home after serving all day at church on a Sunday.  My husband pulled the car into a parking spot in front of our apartment building, and for some reason I kept feeling this tug on my heart.  I turned to my husband and said, “I think we’re going to get pregnant again, and it’s going to be soon.”  After going through what we went through I was surprised I was speaking those words and actually believing them.  To my surprise, my husband looked at me and said, “I feel the same way.”

About a month later, on the very same weekend I was scheduled to deliver our miscarried baby, my husband and I found out we were expecting.  On the weekend where I assumed we’d be mourning, we were rejoicing.  I thought I was going to be afraid, or nervous, or anxious at the news for fear of losing another child.  But instead joy, peace, and hope filled my heart.  Fear had lost.  Hope had won.

So, when I look at our boy, I remember God’s promise.  I remember the victory.  I remember His faithfulness.  And, hope rises within me.

There is hope in His promises.

If you’re waiting for a promise to be fulfilled, let this blog fill you with hope today.  Blessed are you who believe that the Lord would fulfill His promises to you!

I love this song by Elevation Worship called “Your Promises.”  I pray it blesses you!

 

About Natalie Nieves

I am a lover of Jesus. I am happily married and blessed with two beautiful children. My husband and I serve on the Pastoral Staff at a church located in New York City. I pray that God would fill you with unspeakable hope as you read my blog posts!
This entry was posted in Christian, Couples, Devotional, Encouragement, Hope, Miscarriage, Stay-at-home mom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

