Be Still

After a few years of being married, my husband and I came to the realization that we had gained a bit of weight as newly weds.  We were enjoying our date nights, eating at different places, trying new foods.  But, eventually it caught up to us.  As a result, we decided we were going to try our best to maintain our health, so we committed to working out at our local gym.

I felt like I personally needed to enroll in a fitness class to get the results I was looking for.  So I signed up for a weekly boot camp class.  The first time I met the instructor, I knew this class was not for wimps.  He was a seventy-two-year-old former Marine who had veins and muscles popping out of his biceps, triceps, forearms, calves, hamstrings–I mean to say the man was toned and fit was an understatement.  You knew he meant business.

From start to finish, the class consisted of non-stop movement.  If the instructor saw anyone slacking off a bit, he’d quickly yell out, “Come on!  Pick it up!”  The fast-paced music, the counting of reps, the use of dumbbells and steppers, the militant orders to spur everyone on–everything about the class was about high energy, constant motion, and intense activity.  And, ultimately, the activity brought about great results.  Core strengthening, muscle-building, and muscle toning.  It’s difficult to develop those things without that level of activity.

It’s interesting though, how this concept doesn’t necessarily apply to the development of our faith muscles.

My husband and I currently find ourselves in a place where God is definitely “toning” our faith muscles, but instead of increased activity what we have heard from God is “Be Still.”

Say What?  God, you want us to Be Still?

Yes.

“Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).

“…you need only to be still” (Exodus 14:14).  

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently…” (Psalm 37:7).

That was not quite the instruction I was looking for.  I was looking for more of a “Do this, then do that” type of instruction.  The type of instruction I can actively take steps towards.  Not “Be Still.”

How will we see any results if we’re still?

It’s so hard for me to be still.  I perceive being still as doing nothing.  As being inactive.

But what we perceive as inactivity, can be God’s greatest moments of activity in our lives.

In our stillness, God is actively working things in us and out of us.

In our stillness, God is working out our faith muscles.  He’s stretching us.  He’s building up our inner-core strength.  He’s working out our endurance and perseverance.

In our stillness, God is working out of us any unbelief and doubt.  And, in their stead, He is instilling a steadfast spirit, and unwavering trust.

So that, when life throws blows at us – we’ll be immovable.

So that, when storms come and winds blow – we’ll be firmly rooted.

So that, when we hear of bad news – our hearts will be steadfast (Psalm 112:7).

So that, when things come against us – they will not overcome us (Jeremiah 1:18-19).

Being still is not for wimps.  But, I’m certain that the results will not disappoint.

If you’re enrolled in the same faith fitness class, be encouraged.  God is actively working in us and for us!

About Natalie Nieves

I am a lover of Jesus. I am happily married and blessed with two beautiful children. My husband and I serve on the Pastoral Staff at a church located in New York City. I pray that God would fill you with unspeakable hope as you read my blog posts!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Still

  1. wilprosper42 says:

    Thank you for sharing this Natalie, so appropriate for where I am today!

Leave a Reply

