He Knows

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11, NIV).

During my teenage years, after I whole-heartedly committed my life to the Lord, I was always intrigued by the truth that this Big, Awesome God had plans for me.  God had thoughts concerning me.  Me–young, little Natalie.  I was on God’s mind.

One of my favorite verses was, and still is, from Psalm 139:

“How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.  They cannot be numbered!  I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand!” (v. 17-18, NLT).

Amazing, right?  God thinks of us so much that His thoughts outnumber the grains of sand.

As much as these verses have blessed me throughout the years, they have also driven me a tad bit crazy at times.

Being someone who is naturally inclined to plan absolutely every detail of their life, it kind of irked me that God knew plans about me that I didn’t even know.

A part of me wanted to “be in the know” on what these thoughts were, and get a visual of what the “big picture” looked like for my life.

I can even recall moments when I would be in a worship service and Spirit-filled people would feel led to pray over me and I would get SO excited!  In my mind I was thinking, “This is it–I’m going to ‘get in’ on these thoughts God has for me, because this person is a spiritual Giant!  God is going to speak through them and tell me what His thoughts are!”  

And, yes, God would absolutely speak through them.  His words to me were always the same on NUMEROUS occasions–“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God sure does have a sense of humor…

As I mentioned in my last blog post, I have been participating in another online bible study, which I am very sad to say has ended this past week.  (Those five weeks flew by!)

The bible study, which was based on the book What Happens When Women Walk in Faith, by Lysa TerKeurst, for me was so timely as it spoke to the current season I am in–truly walking in faith and believing in God for the miraculous.

One of the “phases” in this walk of faith that Lysa TerKeurst describes is called the “Death Phase.”  This is the phase we go through when we feel like God has forgotten us.  The phase where we feel as if our dream has died.  Hope is lost.  There just seems to be no way.  It’s the phase I most identified with.

So what do we do when we’re in the “Death Phase”?  Simply TRUST.

Lysa graciously reminds us that God “…is still there on our bad days, singing over us (Zephaniah 3:17), wiping our tears (Isaiah 25:8), and taking care of our future (Jeremiah 29:11)” (Page 136).

Did you notice that last reference to that famous verse, Jeremiah 29:11?

All throughout these past five weeks during this bible study, I have been constantly reminded once again that God knows the plans He has for me.  And they are good plans.  They are not to harm me, but to prosper me and give me hope and a future.

It was yet another reminder that God knows and that’s what matters.  God hasn’t forgotten.  He sees and He knows.  He’s fully aware.

And, my role in all of this?  Is to continue to walk in faith, eyes fixed on Him, trusting that His plan is the BEST plan.

I don’t know what the future holds.  But God does–and I’m thankful that He does.

About Natalie Nieves

I am a lover of Jesus. I am happily married and blessed with two beautiful children. My husband and I serve on the Pastoral Staff at a church located in New York City. I pray that God would fill you with unspeakable hope as you read my blog posts!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Knows

  1. Miriam Santana says:

    Awesome Natalie! This is one of my favorite scriptures. As a matter of fact the Lord spoke this over me many years ago. I have this verse on my night stand so that when I wake up in the morning it is a reminder to me that this is His promise for me. Although I am still in the waiting period I know that I can trust Him that he will bring it to pass at the appointed time. Thank you so much for sharing! Blessings, Miriam Santana

  2. wilprosper42 says:

    Lysa graciously reminds us that God “…is still there on our bad days, singing over us!
    What a reminder! I am encouraged even now with the thought that even though I am tired, feeling a little down, My God is singing over me! Thank you Lord!

Leave a Reply

