When Your Heart is Gripped by Fear

when-your-heart-is-gripped-by-fear

My husband and I used to enjoy watching the television series, Once Upon A Time.  The writing and interplay between good and evil characters captivated us and drew us in.  The show is based on Disney fairy tales many of us grew up watching or reading about.

Of course, there is a good queen and an evil queen.  In order for her to manipulate and control others, the evil queen uses a tactic of gripping people’s hearts with her hands.  She then speaks choice words to make that heart do, feel, and think whatever she desires.

The evil queen’s tactic is oh so familiar to me.  You see, there have been many times when my heart has been gripped by something: FEAR.

This four-letter word has taken over my heart too often to count.  Fear has squeezed my heart so tightly and whispered choice words to make me do, feel, and think warped things.  I have been manipulated, controlled, deceived, and paralyzed by it.

In the same way the evil queen grips people’s hearts to make them believe in things that are not even real, so fear has done the same to me.

It has caused me to believe in things that are not true.  Lies.  Lies about my health.  Lies about my future.  Lies about the well being of my family.

Fear has led me to question just about everything, including the truth of God’s word and promises.

Fear has whispered:

  • What if something bad happens to you, or to someone you love?
  • What if the monies don’t add up anymore?
  • You don’t think God’s promises will ever come to pass, do you?
  • Do you really have a hope and a future?
  • If you venture out to pursue your dream, do you think you’ll actually succeed?
  • If you say that, or do that, what will others think of you?

Have there been times when fear has gripped your heart too?

The grip of fear is very real.  But, there is a God who is alive and real too.  And, friends, the darkness fear casts on our hearts is not of God.  God’s Word says, “God is light, and there is no darkness in him AT ALL” (1 John 1:5, NLT).

When we are in those dark moments turning to God, who is light, will begin to dispel all darkness.

How can we do this?

We can turn to His Word, which is a powerful tool “…for smashing warped philosophies [and] tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God…” (2 Cor. 10:3-6, MSG).

The Bible says, “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of POWER and of LOVE and of a SOUND MIND” (2 Tim. 1:7, NKJV).

When fear tries to grip us and begins to whisper to our hearts, remember fear is NOT of God!

When fear has beat us up with lies and has left us feeling defeated, remember God has given us POWER in Him.  He has given us the weapons of His Word, Prayer, Fasting, and Community to come against every lie (read 2 Cor. 10:4, KJV).

When fear has caused us to feel as if we are not good enough, remember God’s unfailing LOVE for us (read Ps. 36:7), and rest in the truth that His “…perfect LOVE drives out fear” (1 John 4:18, NIV).

When fear has messed around with our hearts to the point where our minds begin to dwell on warped things—lies from the enemy—remember God has given us a SOUND MIND (read Isaiah 26:3, KJV).

I pray that the spell fear has over us would be broken once and for all.  Let’s intentionally shift and turn to the One who is greater.  The One who is for us!  The One who is able to set us free so we no longer have to be enslaved to fear anymore!

I am so thankful God is stronger than the grip of fear!

These are a few more bible references we can meditate on as we trust God to set us free: Genesis 15:1; Genesis 26:24; Exodus 14:13; Deuteronomy 31:6; Psalm 121:7; Psalm 32:7; Psalm 41:2; Psalm 91:14.

What are some fears your heart is gripped by?  What are some verses you have used to overcome those fears?

Below is also a lyric video for the song “No Longer Slaves,” by Jonathan David & Melissa Helser from Bethel Music.  I pray it encourages you!

 

 

 

About Natalie Nieves

I am a lover of Jesus. I am happily married and blessed with two beautiful children. My husband and I serve on the Pastoral Staff at a church located in New York City. I pray that God would fill you with unspeakable hope as you read my blog posts!
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Bible, Christian, Devotional, Encouragement, Faith, Fear, Hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Your Heart is Gripped by Fear

  1. dianadenis says:

    Good morning Nat, I didn’t realize you were still writing. Thank you for this. I’m bookmarking it now so that when fear tries to rear its ugly head I’ll have the truth of His word to remind me who I belong to and that I am free. LOVE THIS! Sharing it:)

    • nnieves3783 says:

      Thank you so much Diana! I checked out your blog and read that you attended the Allume conference. That’s awesome! Ariel also mentioned you attended Re-Write – how was it?

      • dianadenis says:

        I didn’t make it…there aren’t enough hours in a day. -__-
        Allume, however, was life changing. I went as I had just started on my writing journey so the timing, connection to Christian writers, and the encouragement were pretty much perfect timing. I highly recommend it! Love you

Leave a Reply

