Finding Strength in the Lord in a Season of Waiting

FindingStrength.BlogHeader

Ever had someone make you a promise and not keep it? You receive the promise, fill up on hope, and then when the promise falls flat you feel like a popped, deflating balloon, releasing all hopefulness.

One of the many things I love about God is when He gives you a promise you can be sure He will fulfill it. So, you can only imagine, the excitement and anticipation my husband and I had when the Lord gave us a promise at the start of this year. The promise pertained to something we continually brought to the Lord in prayer. God had spoken and hope filled our hearts.

But…some of the things we faced in the months to follow totally contradicted what God promised us.

Honestly speaking, I questioned many times – how is everything going to play out in the months to come? How long before God fulfills His promise?

Moments like these prompt me to read and meditate on this one verse over and over again:

“But David found strength in the Lord his God” (1 Samuel 30:6).

David found strength in God.

If you look at the context of this verse, you’ll realize David and the men who followed him had lost everything. Their enemies, the Amalekites, raided their camp and seized their families.

One would think David’s life would have been pretty easy.

As a teenager, no older than fifteen years old, David received a promise from God.  God sent the prophet Samuel to anoint David to be the next king of Israel (1 Samuel 16:12).  God promised David he would succeed King Saul (who was king at the time), and take his place to lead His people. Sounds like a pretty good life, doesn’t it?

If you study David’s life, however, you’ll realize the fulfillment of the promise did not happen right away.

After Samuel anointed David, David won many victories for the people of Israel.  He even killed Goliath, the Philistine giant.  The people sang of David, “Saul has slain his thousands, and David his TENS of Thousands” (1 Samuel 18:7).

Did those victories bring about the fulfillment of the promise?  No.

On the contrary, David actually spent the years thereafter fleeing from King Saul who wanted to take his life. He often hid in caves, and retreated from city to city for safety.

By all outward appearances, nothing in David’s life lined up with the promise he received.

And yet, during those moments of uncertainty, David penned the most incredible worship to the Lord—the Psalms. Despite the contradicting occurrences in his life, David’s trust in the Lord never wavered.  David did not question God’s promise to him.

Can you imagine being David?

I would have asked for my crown and throne right after my first battle win.  Child-like tantrums full of kicking and screaming may have been my response to the prolonged promise.

Are we there yet? Are we anywhere near the fulfillment of your promise, Lord?

“But David found strength in the Lord his God” (1 Samuel 30:6).

In the waiting, David ran to God instead of grumbling, doubting, and questioning. He knew strength could only be found in the Lord.

What was that God-moment like for David?  Perhaps he poured out his heart to the Lord through tearful prayers.  Maybe David silently sat in God’s presence, settling in his heart to trust the Lord.

At the age of thirty, David finally became king of Israel—approximately, fifteen years after Samuel anointed him (2 Samuel 5:4).  Long wait, right? 

Imagine if David gave up mid-course.  What if he concluded the prophet Samuel mistakenly anointed him as king?

God didn’t really speak to the prophet.  King? I’m nowhere near sitting on a throne!

Can you imagine? The calling on David’s life would have been jeopardized.

“But David found strength in the Lord his God” (1 Samuel 30:6).

David displayed a resolve I crave in my own life.  I want to stay the course even when it just doesn’t make sense.  In the waiting, when I’m face to face with everything contrary to the promise, I want to choose to find strength in the Lord.

Like David, I want to contemplate in His goodness and faithfulness. In moments of turmoil, I want worship and praise to overflow from my mouth and heart. I want to park my mind and thoughts on God’s infallible character so my strength and spirit may be renewed.

If you hunger for the same tenacity, remind yourself of the promise He’s spoken to you.  Remind yourself of the dream He’s given you.  Strengthen yourself in the Lord today!

You may be on the precipice of apprehending all that God apprehended you for.

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord” (Psalm 27:14).  

“God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?” (Numbers 23:19). 

“Keep in mind that the LORD your God is [the only] God. He is a faithful God, who keeps his promise…” (Deuteronomy 7:9, God’s Word Translation).

“The LORD always keeps his promises; he is gracious in all he does” (Psalm 145:13, NLT).

About Natalie Nieves

I am a lover of Jesus. I am happily married and blessed with two beautiful children. My husband and I serve on the Pastoral Staff at a church located in New York City. I pray that God would fill you with unspeakable hope as you read my blog posts!
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian, Devotional, Encouragement, Faith, Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding Strength in the Lord in a Season of Waiting

  1. Mary Ortega says:

    Thank you!…so encouraged me

    • nnieves3783 says:

      Mary, I miss you! I’ve been asking Ariel for you because he gets to see you when he goes to the Bushwick campus. I need to visit one Sunday so I can hug you! 😉

  2. Letty says:

    Wow! Nat, this is great. I can totally relate and have had my moments before the Lord of”how long oh God, how long”. Thank you, I am very encouraged and am so grateful for the strength the Lord has given me to endure. Love you!

  3. Lisa Fontanez says:

    Thank you for sharing, very encouraging. I got site from a linkAriel put up on Facebook and have periodically checked to read your blog. A lot of your writings remind me of me or my sister who is currently in the hospital. She had a break down and is struggling with depression and past miscarriage. Please keep my sister Andrea in your prayers. And thanks again for sharing. GOD BLESS.

Leave a Reply

